An Outline Chronology of Kashmir History

Maharaj Kaul

Sources

1.	Nilmatpurana	Written in $6^{th} - 7^{th}$ Cent. (Oldest extant text)
2.	Kalhana's Rajatarangani	Written in 1149 – 1150
3.	Jonaraja's Rajatarangani	Covers 1150 – 1459
4.	Jaina Rajatarangani by Srivara Pandit	Covers 1459 – 1486
5.	Rajavalipataka by Prajyabhatta	Covers 1486 – 1512
6.	Chaturtha Rajatarangani by Suka	Covers up to the arrival of Asaf Khan
		(Shah Jehan's, 1628-1657, Prime Minister)

Chronology

Ancient Hindu Era

3120 B.C. – 598		3,718 years	92 kings (chronology speculative – based on Kalhana and Ghulam Hassan Shah (1832 – 1898), in Tarikh-i-Hasan. The only source of 47 Lost Kings, based on Ratnakar Purana, compiled by Anand Kaul. Kalhana starts with King Gonanda I
Karakota Dynasty	600 - 855	255 years	Hieun Tsiang visits Kashmir (631 – 633)
Utpala Dynasty	855 – 1003	148 years	Suyya, the great engineer. Sopore named after him Lalitaditya Muktapida, built Martand Temple. Avanti Varman (855 – 883). Built Samarsvamin Temple in Avantipura. Vasagupta, founder of Kashmir Shaivism Ksemgupta (950 – 958). Married Didda. Didda (980 – 1003)
1 st Lohar Dynasty	1003 – 1101	98 years	King Harsha (1089 – 1101)
2 nd Lohar Dynasty	1101 – 1339	238 years	Pandit Kalhana wrote Rjatarangani during Jayasimha's reign (1128 – 1154) Suhadeva (1301 1320). During his reign Dulcha, Rinchana, and Shah Mir came to Kashmir Rinchana (1323 – 1323). Converted to Islam. Udyandeva (1323 – 1338), brother of Suhadeva Kotarani (1338 – 1339). Murdered by Shah Mir. Lal Ded born in 1335

Total Ancient Hindu Era

4,457 years

Muslim Era

Sultanate	1339 – 1561	222 years	Shams'Din (Shah Mir) 1339 – 1342) Sikandar Bhutshikan (1389 – 1413) – Most tyrannical to KPs. Forced conversion of KPs to Islam Zain-Ul-Abidin (Budshah) 1420 – 1470 Most secular Muslim king. Death of Sheikh Nur-ud-Din Rishi
Chaks	1561 – 1586	25 years	Habba Khatoon
Moguls	1586 -1752	166 years	Rupa Bhavani (Shah Jehan's reign 1628 – 1657)
Afghans	1752 – 1819	67 years	Most brutal era for KPs Parmanand born in 1791 Arnimal
T		400	

Total Muslim Era 480 years

Modern Hindu Era

Sikhs	1819 - 1846	27 years	Treaty of Amristar
Dogras	1846 – 1947	101 years	Britain sold Kashmir to Gulab Singh for 75 lak rupees Master Zinda Kaul

Total Modern Hindu Era 128 years

History of Srinagar

The city of Srinagri was founded by King Ashoka (273 – 232 B.C.) at the present-day village of Pandrethan, about 3 miles of the present-day Srinagar. (Panderthan was called Purnadisthan until 14th cent.). Present-day Srinagar was founded by King Pravarsena The Second (Gonandiya Dynasaty) and used to be called Pravarpura. When the name Srinagri changed to Srinagar and replaced Pravarpura is not known.

Suffern, New York, Original 2003: Rev 1: 2010; Rev 2: January 29, 2017; Rev. 3: Feb. 28, 2017; Rev 4: March 4, 2017; Rev. 5: June 24, 2018
www.kaulscorner.com

maharaj.kaul@yahoo.com